34th District Counties Receive Grants for Recycling

Centre County Receives Grants for Hazardous Waste Collection Event & Management Plan

(HARRISBURG) – Sen. Jake Corman (R-Centre) said today that counties that make up the 34th Senatorial District will be awarded grants from the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) to help pay for recycling coordinators.

DEP awards recycling coordinator grants for authorized salary and expenses for county recycling coordinators.

Corman said coordinators assist counties in developing and implementing the waste reduction, recycling, leaf and yard waste, and household hazardous waste components of its solid waste management plan.

Coordinators also develop educational programs and manage county recycling programs.

The grants for each county are:

Mifflin – $16,525.06
Juniata – $8,435.59
Perry – $7,777.60
Union – $39,155.70

Additionally, Corman said the Centre County Solid Waste Authority will receive a $32,799.64 grant to help defray the costs of developing and operating a hazardous waste collection event that was held at the Centre County Solid Waste Authority and the Dale Summit Transfer Station on May 11 and 12, 2007.

Corman also announced that Centre County will receive a $200,000 grant from the DEP that will be used to reimburse up to 80% of the costs associated to revise the county’s solid waste management plan.

Don Houser
Phone: 717 787-1377
Email: dhouser@pasen.gov