Senate Republican Leaders Issue Responses to Senate Passage of State Budget



Senate Republican leaders offered the following statements on passage of the Fiscal Year 2018-2019 state budget, which holds the line on spending, makes historic investments in education and school safety initiatives, and includes no new taxes.

Senate President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati (R-25):  “Completion of the 2018-2019 State Budget over a week before the June 30th budget deadline is a true testament to what can be accomplished when we work together.  Just as in previous years, Senate Republicans’ goal continues to be protecting taxpayers from broad-based tax increases that have been detrimental to Pennsylvania in the past. I am confident that this budget will set our state on a path toward more quality jobs, better government, and safer schools.”

Senate Majority Leader Jake Corman (R-34): “This year, we are making historic investments in education at all levels, school safety and agriculture. Our fiscal responsibility in recent years means we can do all of this without asking taxpayers for additional money. Where we can, we have kept spending under control and are positioning the state for future prosperity. This budget plan also starts the process of providing schools with the tools they need to create a more secure learning environment for our children.”

Senate Appropriations Chair Pat Browne (R-16):  “The financially responsible work the General Assembly has done the past several years in limiting spending growth to an average of 1.2 percent – below the rate of inflation – has resulted this year in revenues exceeding estimates for the first time in 10 years. This brighter financial outlook allowed for increases in spending of 1.7 percent over the previous year without the need for new or increased taxes. This budget includes funding increases for critical programs and services including basic education, special education, early education, higher education and school safety.” 


Kate Flessner – Senator Scarnati (717) 787-7084
Jenn Kocher – Senator Corman (717) 787-1377
Matt Moyer  – Senator Browne (717) 787-1349