Corman Announces Safe Schools Grants for Centre, Mifflin County Schools

(HARRISBURG) – Senate Majority Leader Jake Corman (R-34) today announced local recipients of competitive 2019-20 Safe Schools Targeted Grants in Centre and Mifflin counties.

Senator Corman said grants are awarded to schools to prevent and reduce violent incidents, to purchase safety and security-related equipment, and to provide for the training and compensation of school resource and police officers.

“A safe and secure learning environment is an important part of our ongoing commitment to providing a quality education for our students,” Senator Corman said. “This funding is vital for our communities to help provide the school districts with the access to the tools they need to achieve that.”           

The following grants were awarded for the purchase of safety and security-related equipment:

School Police Officer Grants

Centre County

State College Area School District     $39,999


Centre County

Nittany Christian School                     $3,274

Saint John’s                                         $15,000

St. Joe’s                                               $18,606

Mifflin County

Mifflin County Christian Academy   $10,970


Mifflin County

Belleville Mennonite School              $14,924

Senator Corman said Safe Schools grants are aimed at reducing unnecessary student disciplinary actions and promoting an environment of greater productivity, safety and learning. Funds can also be used for enhancing anti-violence efforts between schools and parents, local governments, law enforcement and community organizations.

“The awarding of these grants recognizes that education begins with ensuring a safe learning environment,” Corman said. “Our local schools will use these Safe Schools Targeted Grants to purchase equipment, implement programs and boost security presence in buildings.”

CONTACT: Jennifer Kocher